Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s)sort descending Start End
Denning, Mr. William F. United Kingdom 1891 1931
Stratton, Prof. Frederick John Marrian United Kingdom 1954 1960
Turner, Prof. Herbert Hall United Kingdom 1916 1930
Williams, Mr. Arthur Stanley United Kingdom 1909 1938
Clerke, Miss Agnes M. United Kingdom 1891 1907
Huggins, Dr. Sir William United Kingdom 1891 1910
Downing, Dr. Arthur Matthew Weld United Kingdom 1896 1917
Moore, Sir Patrick United Kingdom 1993 2013
Brown, Dr. R. Hanbury United Kingdom/Australia 1987 2002
Newnham, Right Rev. Jervois Arthur United Kingdom/Canada 1895 1905


Last modified: 
Sunday, July 19, 2015 - 1:47pm