Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s) Start End
Woolley, Dr. Richard v.d.R. United Kingdom/South Africa 1961 1986
Wolfer, Prof. Alfred Switzerland 1904 1931
Winder, Mr. Daniel K. USA/Canada 1890 1891
Williams, Mr. Arthur Stanley United Kingdom 1909 1938
von Struvé, Dr. Otto Wilhelm Russia 1894 1899
Vogel, Dr. Hermann C. Germany 1894 1907
van de Hulst, Prof. Hendrik Netherlands 1968 2000
van Biesbroeck, Dr. Georges-Achille Belgium/USA 1962 1974
Unsöld, Dr. Albrecht Germany 1956 1995
Underhill, Dr. Anne Canada 1996 2002


Last modified: 
Sunday, July 19, 2015 - 1:47pm