Observing Committee

Committee Mandate

Astronomy is all about looking up and observing what you see. The National Observing Committee provides resources and programs designed to help members get the most out of their observing experiences and helps to coordinate observing efforts and special projects across the country.

Currently the Observing Committee is responsible for:

  • the Society's Observing Certificate program where certificates are awarded for observing achievements by individual members;
  • individual Observing Sections where information on specific aspects of astronomy (comets, variable stars, asteroids and other astronomical phenomena) is presented

While the number of official (voting) members is limited to five, participation in this committee is welcome to any interested member of the RASC.

Committee Definition

The Observing Committee was established in 2003 and the committee will consist of at least one Director, and up to five additional Society members, plus the Society President ex officio.

The Observing Committee shall:

  1. be responsible for the development, promotion and administration of observing programs for the Society;
  2. make available and co-ordinate the distribution of observing resources to Centres and members; and
  3. co-ordinate its activities with the Membership and Development Committee, the Publications Committee and the Society's editors;
  4. and have such other duties as may be prescribed by the Board.

Contact Information

To reach the committee you may e-mail the Observing Committee Chair.

Committee Members - Effective May 2016

  • Alan Whitman (Okanagan), Chair
  • Dr. Randy Boddam (Bellville) Board Liaison
  • Dave Chapman (Halifax)
  • Bruce McCurdy (Edmonton)
  • Blake Nancarrow (Toronto)
  • Tenho Tuomi (Saskatoon)
  • *Randy Attwood (Executive Director)
  • Craig Levine, President ex officio (London)

* = non-voting

Last modified: 
Wednesday, May 25, 2016 - 11:31pm