Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s)sort descending Start End
Peal, Mr. Samuel Edward United Kingdom/India 1891 1897
Woolley, Dr. Richard v.d.R. United Kingdom/South Africa 1961 1986
Russell, Prof. Henry Norris USA 1946 1957
Schwarzschild, Dr. Martin USA 1963 1999
Baldwin, Dr. Ralph Belknap USA 1980 2011
Campbell, Prof. William Wallace USA 1905 1938
Clemence, Dr. Gerald M. USA 1964 1974
Frost, Prof. Edwin Brant USA 1906 1935
Stebbins, Dr. Joel USA 1958 1966
Keeler, Dr. James Edward USA 1895 1900


Last modified: 
Sunday, July 19, 2015 - 1:47pm