Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s) Start Endsort descending
Clerke, Miss Agnes M. United Kingdom 1891 1907
Vogel, Dr. Hermann C. Germany 1894 1907
Newcomb, Rear Admiral Dr. Simon USA 1891 1909
Gore, Mr. John Ellard Ireland 1891 1910
Huggins, Dr. Sir William United Kingdom 1891 1910
Terby, M. François J. Belgium 1894 1911
Darwin, Dr. Sir George Howard United Kingdom 1894 1912
Swift, Dr. Lewis A. USA 1903 1913
Ball, Dr. Sir Robert Stawell United Kingdom 1894 1913
Holden, Dr. Edward S. USA 1891 1914