Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s)sort ascending Start End
Baillaud, Dr. Édouard Benjamin France 1916 1934
Henry, M. Paul France 1894 1905
Hawking, Dr. Stephen W. England 1985 2018
Strömgren, Prof. Bengt G. Denmark 1968 1987
Hertzsprung, Prof. Ejnar Denmark 1946 1967
Morrison, Dr. Joseph Canada/USA 1891 1898
Mitchell, Prof. Samuel Canada/USA 1958 1960
Plaskett, Prof. Harry H. Canada/United Kingdom 1961 1979
Russell, Rev. Norman H. Canada/India 1898 1902
Hunter, Mr. Andrew F. Canada 1890 1891


Last modified: 
Sunday, July 19, 2015 - 1:47pm