Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s) Start Endsort descending
van de Hulst, Prof. Hendrik Netherlands 1968 2000
Brown, Dr. R. Hanbury United Kingdom/Australia 1987 2002
Underhill, Dr. Anne Canada 1996 2002
Reber, Mr. Grote USA/Australia 1988 2002
Bateson, Dr. Frank M. New Zealand 1984 2006
Sandage, Dr. Allan R. USA 1975 2010
Dollfus, Dr. Audouin C. France 1975 2011
Baldwin, Dr. Ralph Belknap USA 1980 2011
Robinson, Mr. Leif J. USA 2000 2011
Moore, Sir Patrick United Kingdom 1993 2013