The following awards are determined by the Society's Awards Committee upon the recommendation of at least two members in good standing of the Society. Nominations should be forwarded to the Awards Committee.

Nominations are accepted for the following awards:

  • Ken Chilton Prize for astronomical work (recently completed or published)
  • Chant Medal for astronomical work (body of work)

  • Qilak Award for Astronomy Outreach and Communication

  • Simon Newcomb Award for astronomical writing
  • RASC Service Award for exemplary service to a Centre or the Society over 10 or more years
  • Fellow of the RASC for extraordinary service, the majority of which is at the national level.

Nominations for the Light-Pollution Abatement Certificate of Merit are accepted by the Light-Pollution Abatement Committee.

The submission deadline for 2024 awards is December 31.