Past Honorary Members

Honorary Membership was limited to 10 from 1890-1900, and to 15 from 1901 onwards. Corresponding Membership was a lesser class of Honoris causa membership in the early years. A few honorary members, such as Barnard, were first made corresponding members for a short time before being recommissioned as honorary members.

Nation(s) Start End
Schlesinger, Dr. Frank USA 1916 1943
Schwarzschild, Dr. Martin USA 1963 1999
Shapley, Dr. Harlow USA 1947 1972
Shearmen, Mr. T.S.H. Canada 1890 1900
Shklovsky, Dr. Iosif S. USSR 1966 1984
Shoemaker, Carolyn USA 2003 2021
Spencer Jones, Sir Harold United Kingdom 1947 1960
Stebbins, Dr. Joel USA 1958 1966
Stratton, Prof. Frederick John Marrian United Kingdom 1954 1960
Strömgren, Prof. Bengt G. Denmark 1968 1987