Inclusivity and Diversity

Committee Mandate

The Inclusivity & Diversity Committee’s mandate is to promote and develop ethnic, cultural, gender, religious and physical diversity within the Society through education and communications programs and publicize the diversity of the RASC to all its audiences. It is our intention to have this new committee:

  • encourage the growth of diversity within the Society;
  • educate members and Centres regarding issues involving minorities;
  • represent the interests of minorities to the Board and the membership of the Society;
  • act as a resource for information on minorities to Society members; and
  • act as advocates to represent members of minorities and assist in mediation;
  • develop and disseminate resources to RASC Centres, members and interested individuals.


Definitions for Inclusivity and Diversity

  • Inclusion is about the collective. It is about creating a culture that strives for equity and embraces, respects, accepts and values difference.
  • Diversity is about the individual. It is about the variety of unique dimensions, qualities and characteristics we all possess.
  • Diversity and inclusion is about capturing the uniqueness of the individual; creating an environment that values and respects individuals for their talents, skills and abilities to the benefit of the collective. 


Resources Created by the Inclusivity and Diversity Committee


Resources Created by other RASC Committees and Centres


Committee Members - as of April 2023

  • Virginia Rufina Marquez-Pacheco
  • Paul Heath
  • Noemi Vikki Zsohar
  • Judy Sterner
  • Brenda Shaw
  • Simon Poole
  • Bill Weir
  • Kathrine Dulong
  • Akram Fashatay
  • Ari Giles
  • JJ Rohit
  • Kanika Gupta
  • Katie Francis
  • Labani Mallick
  • Max Ramage Lee
  • Michael Stevenson
  • Shaf Hassan
  • Saadia Shoaib
  • Shaurya Bhatt
  • Shawn Ouellette
  • Shriya Naik
  • Patrick Wilson
  • Roland Dechesne (Chair)
  • Michael Watson; ex officio (President)
  • Jenna Hinds; ex officio (Executive Director)


Last modified: 
Wednesday, July 5, 2023 - 10:26am